RSpec: controller POST create

Rails 3.1.3 rspec-rails (2.11.4) rspec 2.11.1

I am new to rspec. I don't quite understand tests for POST create part.

I have generated scaffold, and simultaneously it generated controller_spec.rb as well.

it "assigns a newly created plan as @plan" do         post :create, {:plan => valid_attributes}, valid_session         assigns(:plan).should be_a(Plan)         assigns(:plan).should be_persisted       end

is the default POST create test. It raises a failure, if I changed the validations of Plan

class Plan < ActiveRecord::Base       validates :give_take, :presence => true       validates :flight_name_id, :presence => true       validates :day_departure, :presence => true       validates :weight, :presence => true     end

The failure message is

1) PlansController POST create with valid params assigns a newly created plan as @plan      Failure/Error: assigns(:plan).should be_persisted        expected persisted? to return true, got false      # ./spec/controllers/plans_controller_spec.rb:117:in `block (4 levels) in <top (required)>'

If my understanding is correct, be_persisted is testing if the newly created model instance is properly stored in DB.

I understand that my way is rather opposite: building test methods after setting actual codes. But first I need to understand RSpec.

I have also setup FactoryGirl

FactoryGirl.define do   factory :plan do     sequence(:give_take) { |n| [ 0, 1 ][n%2] }     sequence(:weight) { | n | n }     sequence(:check_in) { |c| [ true, false ][c%2] }     sequence(:flight_name_id) { |n| n }     day_departure Date.new(2012, 12, 1)   end end

which does work.

Question: Can you show me how to pass the object to create method WITH valid attributes?

Thanks in advance

soichi

Where do you define valid attributes?

Have you tried post :plan => Factory(:plan)?

On your controller, use create! to see what is preventing the save.

Where do you define valid attributes?

You mean,