REST Web Service Security

I am new to REST web services in Rails, but I do have a strong SOAP background. I'd like someone to explain the various security mechanisms used in REST web services (authentication and authorization). I doubt there is something like WS-* for REST. Specifically, if I choose HTTP Basic auth vs. some token-based approach (either custom HTTP header or XML message element), what are my options? I guess this is analogous to TLS vs. Message security in SOAP.

I am also curious how to suppress or whitelist/blacklist certain attributes from being serialized as XML responses. For example, I don't think sending back foreign keys by default is a good idea. It looks to me that the model objects are just blindly serialized as XML. I'd like to be educated here.

Thanks, Mark

Hi Mark,

I am new to REST web services in Rails, but I do have a strong SOAP background. I'd like someone to explain the various security mechanisms used in REST web services (authentication and authorization). I doubt there is something like WS-* for REST. Specifically, if I choose HTTP Basic auth vs. some token-based approach (either custom HTTP header or XML message element), what are my options? I guess this is analogous to TLS vs. Message security in SOAP.

You are right. As-is there is no predefined scheme for doing REST-based security like the WS-* range does. An open standard for doing identity and security management is something that REST lacks, as far as I know.

As for authentication: HTTP authentication using restful_authentication works great. Next comes authorization. There's a lot of good plugins out there handling role-based authorization.