rendering view via jQuery

Okay, so I am very new to this jQuery stuff, and it seems like I'm just going round and round on this... so I'm hoping someone can help.

I have a table that will have a image on each row that when click, it adds a row with more details below the current row. The details will all be pulled from rails.

I am using the DataTables plugin for jQuery for my table and am basing my code off of this example:

http://datatables.net/examples/api/row_details.html

The example adds the row without going to the server, so I have modified fnFormatDetails to hit the server.

my modified code is this:

function fnFormatDetails ( oTable, nTr ) {     return jQuery.post('<%= url_for :action=>"field_details" %>', {}, null, 'html'); }

I have also tried multiple variations of this, and can't get anything to work.

I am hitting my action just fine, and it is parsing the view (as seen with log statements), but when the row displays on the screen, I see:

[object XMLHttpRequest]

instead of the text. I have also tried just a plain render(:text=>"some text", :layout=>"false") in my action, and have the same results.

All the documentation I see makes me believe that the $.post method should be returning html.

I have viewed this with FireBug, and it sees the response as the text I gave.

As a side note, I chose to use the $.post method instead of the $.get method because $.get was returning a 304 error. I get the 200 code for $.post.

Also, I have tried this with both jQuery 1.4 and the jQuery instance provided with the plugin.

Thanks in advance! Trish

Do you want me to do all the research first and have the answers or do it out loud like we did last time?

I think the question might be better suited for the plugin developers.

Why hit the server again rather than have the initial response have the css class for the returned image you want to toggle set to display: none and modify the ui control to toggle the css class?