Recurring Events feature set

Hi all, I'm a J2EE developer by day and I'm moonlighting to migrate my church's website to a Rails application.

One of the fundamental abstractions that any organization needs to track is events. Events could be work schedules, pay cycles, meetings and so forth. Events recur, of course. I would like to brainstorm with you about possible solutions.

So on that note, I started to think about how to develop an events feature set for a Rails application. Some of constraints I have is that since this is fundamental to my organization's process, we need to save Events with ActiveRecord into our database. (So I doubt Google Calendar would work but I could be convinced otherwise). Events at least have a title, description, start time and end time. But they also recur. Here's where I get puzzled.

a) First solution: browse through the Outlook API (via MSDN) and reconstruct the classes that make up RecurrenceType and RecurrencePattern. RecurencePattern has child classes such as RecursMonthly, RecursDaily, and RecursMonthlyNth. It seems like the right kinds of abstraction for a helper class or a module. Perhaps it isn't Rubyesque but refactoring can fix that problem.

The more important thing that bothers me about this set of classes is that it doesn't seem appropriate to make them ActiveRecord classes. It's just too busy with nouns, because subtypes of RecurrencePatterns are manifold. I personally might have to support a RecurrencePattern for every other Easter! Still an event has to be persisted with some sort of recurrence pattern.