Rails + Legacy Database [Ms Sql Server 2005] ?

Hi there,

I'm a relative newbie to ruby and rails. I have an upcoming project for a company that uses MS SQL Server 2005, and apparently, prefers to use PHP. We have to build a bookstore, and we will be self-hosting a single site.

My first question is:

Is it safe to use the same database that they're using internally for their inventory system or is it better, in terms of performance, to duplicate the database and update it nightly (I think the delay will be acceptable) ? That will give me the flexibility of having a different database server on a linux machine where I could then run Rails without wrestling with Sql Server over TCP.

Alternatively, if I run rails on a Linux machine, which uses the same Sql Server 2005 database over TCP, should I expect performance issues ? Remember, this is a single site, and we don't expect Amazon- level traffic :wink:

Finally. How well can the rails handle legacy databases. Is it terribly hard ? Can anyone share their experience in this regard ?

Any help is appreciated,

Thanks - A.Ali

Is it safe to use the same database that they’re using internally for

their inventory system or is it better, in terms of performance, to duplicate the database and update it nightly (I think the delay will be acceptable) ? That will give me the flexibility of having a different database server on a linux machine where I could then run

Rails without wrestling with Sql Server over TCP.

If you don’t have to duplicate databases, that’s the best approach. It might seem fine in the short term, but I find copying a db nightly is just a big pain. I’d make Rails work with the SQL Server.

Alternatively, if I run rails on a Linux machine, which uses the same Sql Server 2005 database over TCP, should I expect performance

issues ? Remember, this is a single site, and we don’t expect Amazon- level traffic :wink: