rails generate scaffold - ERROR

Hi,

I just installed ROR using the rvm using these instructions: http://ryanbigg.com/2010/12/ubuntu-ruby-rvm-rails-and-you/

Using Ubuntu 12 on VirtualBox

I’m trying to create a demo_app

rails generate scaffold User name:string email:string

gives me this error:

And what do you see at this URL?

Walter

Hey Natmanu,

In order for Rails assets pipeline to handle JS it needs a JS runtime installed on your machine. Since you said you’re on Ubuntu if you don’t mind installing node you could just run sudo apt-get install nodejs. Otherwise the execjs gem works well and makes your project a little more portable.

I’m new to ubuntu, only installed it to learn ruby.

Is there a comand to install

Hey Natmanu,

In order for Rails assets pipeline to handle JS it needs a JS runtime installed on your machine. Since you said you’re on Ubuntu if you don’t mind installing node you could just run sudo apt-get install nodejs. Otherwise the execjs gem works well and makes your project a little more portable.

Nate West – -615.631.6545-

Thanks Nate, I managed to get the JS installed.

Uncomment the following line in Gemfile

gem ‘therubyracer’, :platforms => :ruby

Hi,

I seem to be hitting some configuration errors every step of the tutorial. IS there a way to check my config to see I have all that I need set up?

Now when I try: bundle exec rake db:migrate

is get Error: RVM Ruby not used, run ‘rvm use 1.9.1’ first

I’m not sure i understand the error. is should run: rvm use 1.9.1

…I’m persevering… :slight_smile: nat

I sympathise with you, trying to learn Ubuntu, rvm, ruby and rails all at once can be a bit overwhelming. Persevere and all will become clear in time. The error seems a bit odd. The rvm use command allows you to specify which ruby you wish to use, I am surprised that it has not defaulted to something. However you can easily set the default ruby. First see which ones you have installed by running, in a terminal rvm list