Rails and Databases

Hello,

I am new to RoR and have several questions.

1. I have an existing DB and I want to develop an application that uses this existing DB. How do I import this DB into my application. What I mean is, I dont want to generate new models using rails, I want to use the existing DB.

2. My DB contains tables named abc_profile, abc_friends and abc_register. One profile can have many friends and one profile can have one register. What I have done is, I used the generate model script to generate the 3 models, and in the AbcProfile class, I wrote has_many :abc_friends and also wrote has_one :abc_register. In the AbcFriends class I wrote belongs_to :abc_profile, and in the AbcRegister class I also wrote belongs_to :abc_profile. Then I made a profile controller (generate controller Profile) and wrote in it @result = AbcProfile.find(:all).

In the app/views/profile/index.rhtml file, I wrote <% @result.each do |res| %>, but this line is giving an error. The error is

NoMethodError in

Profile#index Showing profile/index.rhtml where line #1 raised:

You have a nil object when you didn't expect it!
You might have expected an instance of Array.
The error occurred while evaluating nil.each

Extracted source (around line #1):

1: <% @result.each do |res| %>
2: <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
3: <tr>
4: <td valign="top">

Please help me with this error, and also guide me if I have done anything wrong in the above mentioned code. Also tell me about the table names and about the underscore in the table names, I mean do I write has_many :abc_profile, or do I write has_many :AbcProfile.

Any help will be highly appreciated

Please reply to the email address harisgulzar@gmail.com

Hello,

Hello,

I am new to RoR and have several questions.