rails 3 and postgresql scemas

Does Rails 3 support native working with postgresql schemas, or I should try some own solution?

I have some already-created postgresql database with 4 or somth schemas. By putting "schema_search_path: ejabber, public, admin, statistic" into database.yml I told Rails that I have more than 1 schema. When I make "rake db:schema:dump" I have tables from all 4 schemas alphabetical with no schema-dependency.

So the question is, when I'll be ready to deploy my app on production (via capistrano, for example), is there would be still 4 schemas in database, or only one? How does Rails keeps knowing which table belongs to which schema?

First a disclaimer: I’m no expert on using PostgreSQL w/rails. So, take this with a grain of salt. Hopefully someone w/more knowledge will respond.

Does Rails 3 support native working with postgresql schemas, or I

should try some own solution?

As you’ve discovered it has some but obviously isn’t complete.

I have some already-created postgresql database with 4 or somth

schemas.

By putting “schema_search_path: ejabber, public, admin, statistic”

into database.yml I told Rails that I have more than 1 schema.

When I make “rake db:schema:dump” I have tables from all 4 schemas

alphabetical with no schema-dependency.

This, however, would definitely seem to be a problem to me. Perhaps you could report it as a bug?

So the question is, when I’ll be ready to deploy my app on production

(via capistrano, for example), is there would be still 4 schemas in

database, or only one? How does Rails keeps knowing which table

belongs to which schema?

This depends. You say you’ve already got a database. By this, do you mean you’ve already got a “development” database but that you’d be instantiating a new one for production? Or, is your existing database a production database?