Questions about ActiveRecord aggregation.

Hi all,

I'm quite new to rails. These may be silly questions, but I really need your advice.

According to <<Agile Web Development with Rails>>, composite objects in aggregation are value objects, which means their values cannot be changed. So if say Person is the model class and Address is the composite class, the way to update a person's address is to create a new Address object, assign it to the person and then save. This works fine with small composite object with just a few properties. If the composite object has many properties, I think this will a performance problem.

Now in my project, I get a table with about 50-60 columns. I want to divide it into several parts using aggregation. The problem is that, one of these composite objects will have 20 columns and another with 10 columns. I'm wondering if this will cause a performance problem since each time even only one of the composite object's properties needs to be updated, the whole 20 columns or so will be updated together. Is there a way to avoid this? Or this is just the way rails work?

I was thinking about split this big table into several small ones, but this doesn't seem to be reasonable in a OO perspective. Do I have to split the table in order to hold performance or is there better way?

Aonther question is about multi-layer aggregation, say I want to model a table into A, B, C there classes and use a a.b.c relationship. Is this possible?

Thanks a lot.

Hi all,

I’m quite new to rails. These may be silly questions, but I really need your advice.

Not silly. Just inexperienced.

According to <>, composite objects in aggregation are value objects, which means their values cannot be changed. So if say Person is the model class and Address is the

composite class, the way to update a person’s address is to create a new Address object, assign it to the person and then save.