Put code in model or controller. Any general rules of thumb?

I am a Rails newbie (but far from a programming newbie). I have taken perhaps a strange path to learning Rails. I started getting experience with Ruby - lovely language indeed! Then I ventured into ActiveRecord. Slick and easy to understand framework.

Now, I am starting on the controllers. But that gives me some doubts. I am constantly wondering if I have bloated my models with too much code. So I would like to ask if there is perhaps a write-up somewhere about what to consider when deciding between putting code in the model or in the controller?

When I get to learning about the views, I will probably wonder about the same issue. I understand that the rule of thumb here is basically to put as little code in the view as possible. So again that leads back to the question of putting the code to support the views in the model or the controller.

I know these are pretty general questions. And I am certainly not looking for a "fact book". Just some insight into how other people tend to make their decisions about where to put the code. :slight_smile:

I am a Rails newbie (but far from a programming newbie).

So am I so take the rest of the mail with a pinch of salt. :slight_smile:

So again that leads back to the question of putting the code to support the views in the model or the controller.

when I started my first RoR app, views were pretty fat, after my first iteration I moved most of the code to controller, now in my second iteration I am moving things to model as much as possible. My rule of thump is that you should not be using Model.find() in your controller. Write helper methods in your model to get the data in the form you want. That will lead to more consistency and leaner controller. But take care not to take this to insane levels :slight_smile:

Also checkout this blog post for more details from some one with more clue than me. Buckblog: Skinny Controller, Fat Model

raj