Problem with setter override on ActiveRecord

(This message was originally written on StackOverflow -- the formatting is much prettier there -- ruby on rails - Issue with setter override on ActiveRecord - Stack Overflow)

This is not exactly a question, it's rather a report on how I solved an issue with write_attribute when the attribute is an object, on Rails' Active Record. I hope this can be useful to others facing the same problem.

Let me explain with an example. Suppose you have two classes, Book and Author:

class Book < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :author end

class Author < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :books end

Very simple. But, for whatever reason, you need to override the author= method on Book. As I'm new to Rails, I've followed the Sam Ruby's suggestion on Agile Web Development with Rails: use attribute_writer private method. So, my first try was:

class Book < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :author

def author=(author)     author = Author.find_or_initialize_by_name(author) if author.is_a? String     self.write_attribute(:author, author)   end end

Unfortunately, this does not work. That's what I get from console:

book = Book.new(:name => "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", :pub_year => 1865)

=> #<Book id: nil, name: "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", pub_year: 1865, author_id: nil, created_at: nil, updated_at: nil>

book.author = "Lewis Carroll"

=> "Lewis Carroll"

book

=> #<Book id: nil, name: "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", pub_year: 1865, author_id: nil, created_at: nil, updated_at: nil>

book.author

=> nil

It seems that Rails does not recognize it is an object and makes nothing: after the attribuition, author is still nil! Of course, I could try write_attribute(:author_id, author.id), but it does not help when the author is not saved yet (it still has no id!) and I need the objects be saved together (author must be saved only if book is valid).