Possible solution to multiple connections

Here's an outline for a solution for supporting multiple connections to duplicate databases. I'm not an expert in production environments, so whilst the tutorial works, I'm not sure how it will play out in "the real world".

I've pinged Alex @ twitter so hopefully he'll have some feedback too.

http://drnicwilliams.com/2007/04/12/magic-multi-connections-a-facility-in-rails-to-talk-to-more-than-one-database-at-a-time/

I like the idea behind this a lot. Is there any reason this couldn't be implemented without requiring changes to the way models are called? Right now the magic_multi_connections has you do conn::Person.find(:all). Couldn't you just use your random clone selection during ActiveRecord's 'execute' method?

I haven't dug too deep in your code but I'm curious if there's a reason this would be tough.

Great idea BTW :slight_smile:

::J. Danger

I’m lazy - he’s a cut+paste of an answer from the comments of the article:

"that would be great if you didn’t care which requests went to which connection. I think some apps might want write requests to go to the master DB, and read requests (select) to be distributed to the slaves.

“Though perhaps we could use your idea and pass a :connection option in the crud methods; or perhaps :connection_group.”

I might investigate implementing these, just for laughs and giggles.

I'm not really feeling it. Connecting to multiple database instances to provide greater database scaling should be transparent. It seems to me that *that* was Alex's biggest gripe. I'd rather see the transparency either a.) at the adapter level or b.) through the use of load balancing (load balancing is great for non-HTTP traffic).

If you are trying, on the other hand, to connect different models to different databases, or even the same model to different databases at different times, then there are already patterns to do that (which you know.)

V/r Anthony

I agree that it should be transparent.