Partials and a question of correct form

I'm new to Rails and trying to figure out the correct way to handle dynamic data in a partial. The partial in question will be used to display a google ad. The html for this ad will differ based upon the user (do they pay to not see ads, what the format/style of the ad will look like needs to match the look and feel they have configured for their profile, etc.).

I was looking to place an ad in a view as follows:

<%= render "shared/ad_banner", :ad_type => "120x90"%>

where the ad type basically specifies what size ad the ad_banner partial needs to render. The different html for the ads are stored in a database. My question is can/should the partial do a lookup to figure out what ad html to render based upon the ad_type passed in (along with information about the currently logged in user)? Or should the actual lookup occur in the controller and the html be passed into the partial? My first thought was it would be cleaner if I had the partial do the lookup since the controller would not have to have any knowledge about what size ad needs to be rendered, this information was basically embedded in the view.

However, when trying to figure out how to make the partial do the lookup I started wondering if this was bad form based upon the lack of examples I saw for this type of approach (all the examples seemed to be passing the data in).

Any guidance would greatly be appreciated.

Chris