Optional conditions in find

Hassan Kani wrote:

G'day

I am a complete newbie to programming. All I have to go on at this point is the Agile book from Pragmatic Prog. and all the reading I have been doing on the net.

I am looking (begging!) for some help with the following:

I have a form that collects multiple parameters in a view template, as such:

<form action="search" method="get">     <tr>             <td> <span class="list-employee_number" > <input name = "empno" type=text value = ""> </td>             <td> <span class="list-employee_number" > <input name = "title" type=text value = ""> </td>             <td> <span class="list-employee_number" > <input name = "givname" type=text value = ""> </td>             <td> <span class="list-employee_number" > <input name = "surname" type=text value = ""> </td>             <td> <span class="list-employee_number" > <input type = "submit" value = "Search" />     </tr>     </form>

The data entered by the user is then sent to the employee controller file which holds the following:

def search     empno = params[:empno]     title = params[:title]     givname = params[:givname]     surname = params[:surname]

@employees = Employee.find(:all,:conditions => ["employee_number = ?                                                 and title = ?                                                 and given_name = ?                                                 and surname = ?",                                                 empno,                                                 title,                                                 givname,                                                 surname])   end

This all works fine if the user enters a value into each one of the four fields in the form, but if one of the fields is left blank (eg given_name), I get zero results, even if the data entered into all fields other than given_name does match with an existing record.