Open a (redbox) modal popup from inside a controller?

Hi,

I'm trying to open a modal popup window using redbox to display a styled notification/alert to the user. The helpers in the redbox documentation only describe how to open a redbox when the user clicks on a link, e.g., link_to_redbox() or link_to_remote_redbox().

Is there any way to open a redbox, or a different type rails- compatible modal popup, from inside a controller action?

Thanks.

ermmm I'm a newb but I think you should look into the redbox.js file and see if you can call some of the functions in there directly instead of via link_to_redbox calls....activateRBWindow might be a useful one?

Phil Tayo wrote:

ermmm I'm a newb but I think you should look into the redbox.js file and see if you can call some of the functions in there directly instead of via link_to_redbox calls....activateRBWindow might be a useful one?

also maybe you can help me out with my problem...do you know how to get the redbox to appear in the centre of the page? at the moment it seems stuck to the top of the window...

This interested me. There may be better modal solutions than redbox for your need, but if you are already using redbox then you may want to use it. The easiest way I found was to create a hidden div in the normal view.

eg a div with id='my_box' Set the div style to display: none

It doesnt matter where it is positioned because redBox clones it

In the controller I am assuming that you are already responding to an ajax call so in the render : update

add page << "RedBox.showInline('my_box')"

There may be some bits and pieces to tidy, but that worked for me.

hth Tonypm

Phil wrote:

also maybe you can help me out with my problem...do you know how to get the redbox to appear in the centre of the page? at the moment it seems stuck to the top of the window...

In the redbox.js file (in public/javascripts) in setOverlaySize: function() I have done this. (addition of one line of code)