Once I added this HABTM, one of my 'through' relationships, on a non-habtm model, seems to have broke?

I’m a rails newb and have been Googling about this, but I’m still stumped.

Not showing everything here, but basically it should be a pretty common setup so I’m sure others know what I’m doing wrong.

• A meter can belong to many meter_groups
  • A meter_group can have many meters.
  • A user can ‘subscribe’ to viewing a meter_group (Subscription) so he should be able to see the meters that are in that meter_group of the subscription (think subscribing to a topic in a forum.)

Initially I was only allowing a single meter to belong to only one meter_group and the following test and relationship of a Subscription worked fine:

class Subscription < ActiveRecord::Base belongs_to :user, :foreign_key => “user_id”

belongs_to :meter_group, :foreign_key => “meter_group_id” has_many :meters, :through => :meter_group end

test “group1 and group2 belong to rachel” do user = User.find_by_login(“rachel”)

subscriptions = Subscription.find_all_by_user_id([user.id](http://user.id))
subscriptions.each do |s|
  meters = s.meters
  meters.each do |m|
    puts "meter = #{p m}"

end
end

end

However now things are not working since I created some HABTM relationships for meter_group and meters. I end up with the following error:

ActiveRecord::HasManyThroughSourceAssociationMacroError: Invalid source reflection macro :has_and_belongs_to_many for has_many :meters, :through => :meter_group. Use :source to specify the source reflection.

Here are some of the other relevant tables and migrations (stripped of a few non-related fields):

class MeterGroup < ActiveRecord::Base belongs_to :user, :foreign_key => “user_id” has_and_belongs_to_many :meters

end

class Meter < ActiveRecord::Base has_and_belongs_to_many :meter_groups belongs_to :user, :foreign_key => “user_id” end

#Migrations (removed some cols and drop section)