Newbie question - route - show posts from scaffold on blog controller page *solved*

I just started learning rails and mediumsmart so please help me out. (I did the rails guide get started tutorial). rails 5.2

I have a posts scaffold and a blog controller (and friendly_id). I want the post to show on blog/title-of-post but I only get posts/title-of-post. I want the new, edit and destroy functionality to stay on the posts page which is behind basic authenticate.

here is a paste of my routes.rb, rake routes output, posts and blog controller.rb: pastebin

I found this on stackoverflow which is the exact same problem but the solution

resources :posts, path: 'blog'

moves the crud over to blog as well: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/30350279/changing-the-route-from-posts-article-to-blog-article-in-rails

thank you :slight_smile:

Add an additional route to the same action. So keep your resources :posts but add:

get 'blog/:id', to: 'posts#show'

Now your blog posts are available at both blog/title-of-post and posts/title-of-post. If you want to remove the later you can exclude the show action from the resource with:

resources :posts, except: :show

If you do that you will need to update your CRUD stuff to point to that custom route since it’s now the only one to the show action. Probably make a named route to help with that.

The routing guide can give you a lot more info on all this. See:

I have get 'blog/:id', to: 'posts#show' in the routes.rb and if I type blog/title-of-post in the browser url field - the post shows. BUT - on the blog page where the index of posts is shown - when I click on the title of a post preview it routes to posts/title-of-post url …

is the solution to what I want here in the rails routing from the outside in? [1.2 Generating Paths and URLs from Code](https://1.2 Generating Paths and URLs from Code)

if I add:

get '/posts/:id', to: 'blog#show', as: 'post'

it still routes to `posts/title-of-post` from the blog index page ...