Newbie! How to return to the command prompt after launching rails server

Hi

I am following the Ruby on Rails Tutorial: Learn Rails by Example

I am on chapter 2 creating the demo app using scaffolding and have generated the user scaffold, migrated the database using Rake and then run the local webserver using 'rails s'

This has all worked great and I now need to generate the next bit of scaffolding but I don't know how to get back to the command prompt after using 'rails s' . I know I could launch another terminal session but is this the only way? Will I be leaving one terminal open running 'rails s' all the time and another to actually work on?

As anyone can tell I am a total newbie to Ruby on Rails but I am keen to learn and very much appreciate any help with my dumb starter questions!!

Thanks

Matt

rails server -d (or --daemon) will start up the server process in the background and return you to your terminal prompt (at least on Linux or OS/X, I haven’t tried it in Windows). But you do get useful output in the server window in terms of error messages and deprecation warnings, so it’s probably worth letting it keep it’s own terminal.

In fact you’ll probably end up finding it useful to have three or four terminal running at once so as to monitor the rails server, log files, your tests running under autotest plus one to actually do stuff in!

Mark

Hi,

you can stop the server with Ctrl+C. If you want to let you application run all the time in the background just open a new terminal. Another solution would be to start the server as a deamon 'rails s -d'. But i would recommend you to let the server output in its own terminal so you can see if something is going wrong.

Regards, Max.

Hey Matt,

Are you using RoR on Windows platform and MySQL as the db?? Curiously !! I'm using the same and have troubles starting with my first application in RoR..Even I'm a newborn to Ruby on Rails....

Hi Premanshu,