Nested form and a link to add fields question?

I seem to be stuck on a very steep learning curve in my quest to learn rails ... essentially from tutorials and the like on the web ... my profession is accounting so please excuse the lack of sophistication in my attempt to speak rails or for that matter code it.

I subscribed to Ryan Bate' web site and got much of the idea and knowledge on how to create this nested form from his screencast on Deeply Nested Forms. The code "Def of link_to_add_fields" is from his site and is to be found at the end of this posting.

My Add Contract nested form is as follows, new.html.haml:

- provide(:title, 'Add Contract')                 %h2 New Contract                 = form_for(@codeline) do |codeline|                   =render 'shared/codeline_error_messages', object: codeline.object                   =render 'fields', codeline: codeline                   /= link_to_add_fields "Add Codes", codeline, :code                   /debugger                   .actions                      = codeline.submit "Save", class: 'save strong round'

I could not get the link_to_add_fields to work ... thus the comment

The _fields partial: