need to mimic threading across controllers

Hi,

I'm hoping to make a parent and several of its dependent children available for updates by multiple users. I want to figure out how to implement and test the following:

1. A user 'checks out' a parent resource: when seeking to update, other users are informed that the resource and its dependent children are currently unavailable for updating.

2. A user 'checks out' a child resource: when seeking to update, other users are informed that the child is unavailable for updating, though the parent may be available.

I think a reason I'm stumped here is that I have little deployment experience. Yet, even so, how would I test the behaviors above, locally?

Thanks for any comments,

Lille

Presumably you've got a flag of some sort that you set to indicate that a record in use ? (or perhaps better than a flag, one or both of locked_since and locked_by fields telling other users who has the record locked). I don't see any particular difficulties with testing this

Fred

Hi,

I'm hoping to make a parent and several of its dependent children available for updates by multiple users. I want to figure out how to implement and test the following:

1. A user 'checks out' a parent resource: when seeking to update, other users are informed that the resource and its dependent children are currently unavailable for updating.

2. A user 'checks out' a child resource: when seeking to update, other users are informed that the child is unavailable for updating, though the parent may be available.