MVC... Issues with Models (2nd attempt at post...previous lost?)

I'm new to Ruby and RoR. I written a small app that has gotten my feet wet.

I have a question about Models. Controllers, I'm good. Views and Partials, I'm good.

Okay, so Models hold data. Models have the ability to query the database to access and change data. Model changes are only picked up after server restart unlike everybody else... what? Most of my changes seem to be here. My controllers just say go here next and show this view. The real work, validation, business logic, ... all seems to be in the Models. One of the first things that got me interested in Ruby / RoR was avoiding the recompile/restart world of Java/C#. So am I doing something wrong? It's almost like I'm looking for MVCL (Model - DataLayer ONLY, View [Presentation], Controller, and Logic).

Thanks, Jason

Jason Vogel wrote:

Okay, so Models hold data. Models have the ability to query the database to access and change data. Model changes are only picked up after server restart unlike everybody else... what?

What? To change a model's link to the database (correct me if I'm wrong) you edit stuff in db/migrate, run 'rake migrate' (?), run your tests (!), and hit your application's pages. The new models are there. I do this all the time (with a SQLite backend for development).

To change a model's class, I ... change the class, run the tests, and hit the application's pages. The changes are there. I frequently tweak code in any layer and instantly click on my pages' links. The new action versions are all just there.

Most of my changes seem to be here.

That could be a design smell. Do most of your models' methods reach out to other models?