Multiple databases questions (newbie)

Hi all,

I am new to programming and am trying to create my first ROR application from books and online posts. I have come to a challenge that i don't know how to solve. Any help is really appreciated..

I need to have a login method that creates a new database for each user that signs up. This database is used for storing user data. Single master database will be used for login / authentication data.

Three methods that i can think of.

1. Using def signup to call an external script which creates the database. (using CentOS + MySQL) (http://www.ruby-forum.com/topic/ 106628)

2. Using a method that creates a database from within the rails code (like the one by by Tomas Klapka http://pastie.org/113886)

3. Creating a set of unique database names and associating a database to each new user. As soon as a predefined pool of databases is taken up, running a script or a stored procedure to create some more..

Can anyone suggest a best practice for this kind of problem? The intention of the application is to end up with lots and lots of small databases ( sub 100 initially and growing to sub 1000 or more).

Thanks. andy.

You know that creating a per-user database is a strange idea, don't you? I've never heard of that. I think you need to explain this a bit more if you want help. Why can't you just use a standard plugin like acts_as_authenticated or something like that?

Hi Mark,

Thanks for responding.

sure, i understand its strange and here is my thinking: