modeling a collection of integers in active record

Hey,

I'm a newbie to Rails, so forgive me if my question is stupid and I'm spamming the group. I couldn't find any info on the Web.

I'd like to model an entity that contains a collection of integers. In SQL, I could achieve that by creating two tables, like that:

CREATE TABLE Entity (     id INTEGER,     title VARCHAR,     other_stuff BLOB );

CREATE TABLE EntityIntegerCollection (     entity_id INTEGER,     value INTEGER );

And now I can SELECT value FROM EntityIntegerCollection WHERE entity_id = 1234 to retrieve the collection for entity 1234. My question is: How do I model this in ActiveRecord? Can I keep this simple table schema or do I have to change something to get what I want?

Uhm, I think I'm not following you...

What I want is to create a SQL table structure, so that later in Rails I can write something like entity.integer_collection[3]. I'm looking for a way to express this association using has_many, belongs_to or something like that... I don't want to stick to the table schema mentioned, but I want to have Entity class that has attribute integer_collection. Do you mean I can achieve this with migrations?

Mike

Let me first answer your question directly and then suggest an alternative.

First of all, let's follow rails convention here and create two tables: entities and entity_integers. We'll also create the models that rails will use to interface them. We'll do both at once with:

ruby script/generate model Entity ruby script/generate model EntityInteger

You will find two new migrations in db/migrate:

001_create_entities.rb 002_create_entity_integers.rb

In those add your columns:

class CreateEntities < ActiveRecord::Migration   def self.up     create_table :entities do |t|       t.column :title, :string     end   end

def self.down     drop_table :entities   end end

Similarly in your 002_create_entity_integers.rb migration add:

t.column :value, :integer t.column :entity_id, :integer