method(std).call and send(sth)

Bartek Puzoń wrote:

I've got two Models. A and B. Model A has an attribute "name". Model B has an attribute "title".

I can get the name by a.method(:name).call I can NOT get the title by b.method(:title).call. Send works in both cases (a.send(:name), b.send(:title).

I have rewritten my methods using send. But WHY did the former not work?

In model A you have something like:

def name    ... end

and in model B you don't have the equivalent for title.

Rails uses method_missing to dynamically create column methods for you without you needing to explicitly create them in your model unless you want to override the default behavior or add new ones.

send will follow the path through method_missing, if it's been defined, in search of the method to execute while method.call does not. I'm not a Ruby expert so I don't know why there's that difference.

This is analogous to how respond_to? will return true for methods that are defined through method_missing but you don't see them if you look at the methods array for that class.

Hi --

Bartek Puzoń wrote:

I've got two Models. A and B. Model A has an attribute "name". Model B has an attribute "title".

I can get the name by a.method(:name).call I can NOT get the title by b.method(:title).call. Send works in both cases (a.send(:name), b.send(:title).

def name   ... end

Rails uses method_missing to dynamically create column methods for you without you needing to explicitly create them in your model unless you want to override the default behavior or add new ones.

send will follow the path through method_missing, if it's been defined, in search of the method to execute while method.call does not. I'm not a Ruby expert so I don't know why there's that difference.

This is analogous to how respond_to? will return true for methods that are defined through method_missing but you don't see them if you look at the methods array for that class.