Loading the schema by running all migrations

I’ve run into situations before where I’ve had to argue with other humans about loading the schema. Some will run db:schema:load, some will run db:migrate from scratch. The latter which makes my hair go full “coding horror”.

It was my understanding that schema-load was the official supported recommended™ way, however, seeing how much debate there seems to be, it might not be all that clear.

Are we able to get some more clarity about that? I see that it’s included in the migrations guide, but I’m wondering why some people are so attached to running all migrations. Any throughts?

1 Like

If you’re not careful with Git merges, it’s easy to commit the wrong (older) timestamp into schema.rb. You’d then get the PendingMigrationError of death right after running db:schema:load. Or sometimes things work fine in your development environment but break on test.

Also, I didn’t appreciate the importance of schema.rb early on when I was a solo dev. That changed after some team experience with people rebasing migrations that they already pushed.

1 Like

In the case of a large group I work with, we must use migrations, because our test and local development and CI all run SQLite, and our production runs Oracle. The pain of installing Oracle locally, and the complexity of replicating our virtual private database-driven security layer on local dev Macs, are what keep us from using the same database everywhere. Happily, using this combination keeps us from writing too much PL-SQL and other true coding horrors. :slight_smile:

Walter

2 Likes

Yes, that’s been a pain point for me as well! Also, I’ve had some cases where I’ve re-ordered migrations for different reasons (eg. Git branching or developing different migrations in parallel), and the “latest version includes all previous version” model breaks down.