Learning some best DB practices

I am completely new to rails, and I have a very useful way of dealing with database structures from my background in php. I don't want to be one of those who brings bad habits into rails...so I am curious if my practices below violate rails' best practices.

(SQL is below, but I try to explain here for clarity) For example, let's say I want a user's table in the database. I will usually create it with only necessary information. Name, username, password, timestamps, etc. Then I set up a "users_profiles" table that is essentially a table with only three columns (1. A reference to the user_id, 2. A 'key' column (varchar), and 3. A 'value' column (text).). The primary key is a combo of the referenced user_id and the 'key' column. Within my "user" model, I would instantiate an new "users_profile", by calling $this->profile = new Users_Profiles(). Then, if I want to set an email, all I have to do is call $this->user-

profile->email = "example email". Then $this->user->save();. This

technique, allowed for extreme flexibility. Note that any call just to $this->user->name would have to match the database table column name, but with the key/value setup in the "users_profiles" table (using a few setters and getters) I am able to set the "key" to email without any change to the database.

I appreciated this flexibility and decreased need to alter the database. Since I see huge advantage in the "Rails Way"...particularly in ActiveRecord, I would like to adhere to "best- practices." Does anyone know if this would be considered a poor way of managing data in the "rails way". It seems to me that it would function similarly, in that it would save a lot of updates with the db- migrations.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Andrew Pace

Here are the actual SQL statements for a real site.

Andrew Pace wrote: [...]