Layout Problem: No page headers or footers!

Noob here. Been walking through the depot example in AWDWR second edition and discovered when I tried to add styling I found that my pages were not being wrapped by the layout template: They had no headers or footers, hence no css declaration, hence no styling. The body appears in my browser just fine.

What's going on here?

My specifics are that I'm running on Mac OS X 10.4.10, with a RoR install verbatim from

Essentially Ruby 1.8.6, Gems 0.9.2, and a Rails install from gems done last week. The code I'm using for the depot is downloaded directly from the AWDWR site and includes:

- 003_add_test_data.rb - the images on the site - admin.rhtml - depot.css - list.rhtml

Did I miss something? Do I need to set a switch or something? My code seems to be falling into the right places, so I'm kind of at a loss for what's going on.

Add an application.rhtml (or application.hthl.erb if you're on 2.0 PR), and add stuff there. Insert a <%= yield % > where you want the contents to appear.

Assuming the layout [with the headers and footers] is in admin.rhtml, you'll want to make sure you use

layout "admin"

in yr controller. Or do as August suggests and just rename admin.rhtml to application.rhtml and the layout will load automatically.

RSL

Thanks for the quick reply, August. Much appreciated.

Do you mean place a file named "application.rhtml" with the appropriate header and footer and <%= yield % > into the app/views/ layouts directory? I already have have a .rhtml with the same prefix as my controller sitting in the app/views/layouts directory. If I need a file named "application.rhtml", why didn't rails generate that? Did I miss a step?

FYI, my setup looks like the following: As per the AWDWR depot example, the critical component is admin, and I have an...

- admin_controller.rb in the controllers dir - admin directory in app/views that contains list.rhtml - admin.rhtml in app/views/layouts