Intellectual Property of building a Rails app

Hi, who typically owns the IP when building a rails app, the client or the developer. I'm new to this and building a web site for a client but in the contract(which I haven't signed yet) he is owning all of the IP and granting me a nonexclusive license...

That is fairly common in the business world from my experience. When someone contracts you for an application, its their property. Just like building a house for someone, you don't own the house because you built it - they paid you to do it.

If you owned the IP, then you would be able to prevent a future contractor from changing what you've done. That's obviously a terrible thing for the client, because it would mean that if you leave this job, he would have to get someone else to do a complete re-write. So a client who signs over the IP rights to you would actually be a bit silly. -Nathan

I disagree. If it is not discussed and written, the developer owns the code.

Also, just copyright the code. It cost you $45. That, in some cases, has caused people that didn't even write the software to own the copyright.

Look at these and make your call:

http://www.agmrc.org/agmrc/business/operatingbusiness/whoownsthecopyright.htm

Thanks for the responses, what if the IP is split, my intention is to protect my database design and or code. Not to prevent any look and feel changes etc... shouldn't I own at least that and grant the client a license to use and change but not redistribute etc...?

I might want to reuse that code and or parts of that db structure for another app...

I've read conflicting argument's on-line and some advice so far has been that I should own the part of the IP.