Installing Rails on Mac Leopard - Best Approach?

I know this has been asked often over the years, looking for the latest best practice..

I'm a total mac noob, have been using windows/cygwin up until now.

Looks like the basic approaches I've seen so far: - Leave the pre-installed ruby 1.8.6 and just update the rails gem - Do your own full blown installation (Hivelogic tutoral) - Use Macports installation - Others??

Mac has there own tutorial on the developer site, but it requires using XCode and I want to use TextMate, so I haven't paid much attention to their instructions.

Advice greatly appreciated, thanks!

Brad

Brad A wrote:

I know this has been asked often over the years, looking for the latest best practice..

I'm a total mac noob, have been using windows/cygwin up until now.

Welcome to the Mac community! Check out Mac - Official Apple Support for some useful tips.

Looks like the basic approaches I've seen so far: - Leave the pre-installed ruby 1.8.6 and just update the rails gem

That's what I'd advise. There's no reason to do it any other way that I can see, unless you want to try Ruby EE.

[...]

Mac has there own tutorial on the developer site,

No. The company is called Apple. :slight_smile:

but it requires using XCode and I want to use TextMate, so I haven't paid much attention to their instructions.

That's a foolish reason to ignore it. A text editor is a text editor.

But before you blow €39 on TextMate, try jEdit (see http://marnen.livejournal.com for setup info) and/or TextWrangler.

Best,

Thanks for the input.

I actually used jEdit for a few years when I first started developing in java, but have used Eclipse now for the last 3 or 4 years. The main reason for choosing Textmate over XCode is that there seems to be a lot of contributions from the rails community, as far as snippets, etc, that should make some work more effcient.