Ideas on a project or gem to develop

Hi!

I’m a swedish university student (Masters) and this summer I will probably not have an ordinary summer job, but instead work on some of my own projects. These will probably not fill my time so now I want some ideas for a project to start or a gem to develop in Rails.

Do you have any service you’d like to see that you can make use of?

Any gem you’d like someone to develop that you think a lot of people needs?

The main reason for this is to learn Ruby and Rails better, not to make money. I’ve never developed a gem before and it’s always more fun to create something real and useful!

So, hit me with some nice ideas! :slight_smile:

Regards

Hello!

What i do need would be a nice “HelpDesk” gem. I haven’t seen one that i could just install it … and work …

I need it, so, i am gonna start coding… If there are any of you who would like to share any ideas or work about this idea, I’d be happy to listen your needs.

Linus, I hope i did not “steal” your topic, and i hope I’ve given you a project idea, and i’d be happy to help.

Alecs

Thank you for your idea! Will keep that in mind.

Any other ideas?

Hi,

If You develop a helpdesk in Rails, i will help you.

Somebody to develop a “Mantis On Rails”?

Hi! am not sure if Linus has started to think on it but I will start soon to develop that helpdesk support feature … I do not know Mantis (i mean i haven’t worked with it) so, i don’t know it’s features, but what i want to achieve is a gem that would be nice to have a ticketing section for customer support and also kind of a wiki page something like:

http://www.zendesk.com/product/key-features

Have a look and tell me if you’re willing to to help me with that.

However, i guess you might wanna see redmine project…

AlecsLupu

Could you explain this HelpDesk gem a bit more?

Hello!

I was thinking on HelpDesk gem that might have some features like :