I find it difficult to use Turbo Frames: building a simple modal to edit items

I am an experienced Rails developer, but I have never used Hotwire/Turbo. I am trying to understand it and I find it extremely convoluted.

Let’s take a simple example:

1. You have a list of items
  2. The user clicks the edit button near an item
  3. A modal with a form is opened to edit the item
  4. The user clicks save on the form
  5. (a) If the form contains some errors the errors are displayed inside the modal (without closing it)
  6. (b) If the form is correct, then the modal should be closed and the items displayed in the list are updated

You can open the edit form in a frame and use Stimulus to display that frame. However when you save the form you would need to conditionally render a frame or another based on a condition: on success you update the “list” frame, on failure you update the errors in the “form” frame. You can’t do that with Turbo Frames…

So, how would you solve the above workflow using Hotwire?

3 Likes

Probably I need to use Turbo Streams to apply the different changes on form submit (instead of using the simpler Turbo Frames for this use case).

In any case if someone more expert with Hotwire can suggest the high level solution/approach that they would use in this case, it would be appreciated.

Hi Marco, yes, indeed, you definitely have to use at least streams or channel. This is a big missing point in docs. In the end you have three options:

1. Simple turbo response that just changes a frame and does nothing else.
  2. Turbo streams that let you do multiple turbo actions
  3. Channel (web-socket) that is completely independent and can coexist with 1. (or 2. but that makes no sense.)

I spent endless time trying to understand this. You can check READMES from my gem where this is described.

Or take the time to go through hotrails.dev, which explains these basics in great detail, but is a lot of text.