How to search from Flex 3 (NEWBIE)

Hi, first of all let me say that I'm a Flex developer just getting into the awesome world of Ruby on Rails, so I consider myself a newbie on RoR. what I need to do is to search for a specific row on the table and return the complete row in xml format, the thing is that I need to search by description rather than by id, so I did this:

class LoginController < ApplicationController   # GET /login   # GET /login/usuario.xml   def search     t = params[:usuario]     @usuario = Usuario.first(:conditions => ["usuario = ?", "t"])

respond_to do |format|       format.xml { render :xml => @usuario }     end   end end

but I don't know what U.R.L. to specify on the HTTPService tag on flex. I don't even know how to test if this def search is working from a browser, can anyone please help me on this one, I'm desperate, I have a deadline to meet and I'm stuck, please please please help, ANY HELP will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hi c0y0tex,

Hi, first of all let me say that I'm a Flex developer just getting into the awesome world of Ruby on Rails, so I consider myself a newbie on RoR. what I need to do is to search for a specific row on the table and return the complete row in xml format, the thing is that I need to search by description rather than by id, so I did this:

class LoginController < ApplicationController   # GET /login   # GET /login/usuario.xml   def search     t = params[:usuario]     @usuario = Usuario.first(:conditions => ["usuario = ?", "t"])

You're missing the find method so unless your Usuario class has defined a 'first' method the code above should be throwing an error. Isn't it?

Try... @usuario = Usuario.find(:first, :conditions => ["usuario = ?", "t"])

respond_to do |format|       format.xml { render :xml => @usuario }     end   end end

but I don't know what U.R.L. to specify on the HTTPService tag on flex.