How do I make a simple redirect site in ruby?

Is it possible to make a site that only preforms a redirect to another site? Here's an example:

Let's just say that a netflix.com URL to a movie is something like netflix.com/search?category=Fantasy&name=Heroes&blahtechnical-stuff

Could you make a really simple app in Rails at say the domain netflixit.com that allows people to just type in like netflixit.com/ fantasy/heroes and be instantly directed to the netflix version? So, I guess it has to convert and change the URL, but I don't know how. The website would be pretty much blank. The only thing it would be used for is automatically redirecting to the netflix site. The idea is just to give people an easier way to find something in a database type site if they already know what they are looking for.

This sounds like it would be very easy, but I'm still a beginner in Rails. I don't even know the correct term for what this would be called - might be easier to find information if I did :smiley:

So, does anyone know any tutorials that show how to do this, or at least know the technical term for this so I can do my own searching?

Thanks, guys!

MOLTEN wrote in post #965662:

Could you make a really simple app in Rails at say the domain netflixit.com that allows people to just type in like netflixit.com/ fantasy/heroes and be instantly directed to the netflix version? So, I guess it has to convert and change the URL, but I don't know how. The website would be pretty much blank. The only thing it would be used for is automatically redirecting to the netflix site. The idea is just to give people an easier way to find something in a database type site if they already know what they are looking for.

This sounds like it would be very easy, but I'm still a beginner in Rails. I don't even know the correct term for what this would be called - might be easier to find information if I did :smiley: