How can I identify a memory leak? using memorylogic..

Hi all,

I have an ROR application thats been running on the production server for almost a couple of months now. Everything seemed fine but the past few days have caused worry. The whole server slows down drastically and comes to a halt suddenly and it requires a reboot for the apps i have on the server to start being responsive again.

Memory leak?

I installed binarylogic's memory logic GitHub - binarylogic/memorylogic: Adds in proccess id and memory usage in your rails logs, great for tracking down memory leaks which shows me memory usage on every line of my log along with the PID. I can see that the memory usage keeps going higher with every request on my local dev machine. Does that mean ive got a memory leak? How do i diagnose this? I have no experience with this and im not even sure what a bad number is when i see one in terms of memory usage.

For information's sake, when i start the app up locally, mem starts at around 46700 and keeps going up by about 400 with every request on average. How can i interpret this data? Anyone used memory logic before?

That's probably a bad thing. You need to start digging deeper: every request or only some requests ? Run some tests that hit a certain action 1000 times running: can you narrow it down to a single action (or set of actions) ? Can you remove the leak by disabling bits of functionality or commenting out code ? Keep narrowing it down until you have your culprit. You may find a tool like bleak house (http:// blog.evanweaver.com/articles/2007/05/06/leak-proof-direct-heap- instrumentation-for-bleak_house/) is usefull too: these things can tell you what objects are being leaked which may help you find the problem too.

Lastly, watch out for things which naturally survive between requests: class variables etc.

Fred

Hi Fred,

I have a few basic questions that if you could answer, would help me get a better grasp of things.