Help with forms and joined tables?

Hello all,

I know this is something that should be almost ridiculously easy (I am new with RoR, so please be gentle). I am trying to create a comment on a simple forum posting, but am having problems setting up my form properly. I am using Rails 2.0.2, but everything I find online seems to use the now-deprecated 'start_form_tag' and I'm not having much luck converting it to 'form_for'.

Here is my code in the show.html.erb file:

21: <% form_for :comment, :url => { :action => "add_comment", :id => @post } do |f| %> 22: Add a comment:<br> 23: <%= f.text_area :comment %> 24: <br> 25: <%= submit_tag%> 26: <% end %>

And here is my code in the posts_controller:

def add_comment     Post.find(params[:id]).comments.create(params[:comment])

flash[:notice] = 'Comment added to the dream!'     redirect_to :action=>'show', :id=>params[:id]   end

Can somebody point out my mistake? TIA

Sorry about that...reading back through it I see that I never actually said what the problem was. I have modified it per your instructions, but the end result is still the same as the error has something to do with the hash that is getting passed (I think).

Here is the updated code for the show page:

<% form_for :comment, :url => { :action => "add_comment", :id => @post } do |f| %>      Add a comment:<br />      <%= f.text_area :comment %>      <br />      <%= f.submit "Save" %>    <% end %>

And here is what I have in the Post controller:

def add_comment     Post.find(params[:id]).comments.create(params[:comment])

flash[:notice] = 'Comment added'     redirect_to :action=>'show', :id=>params[:id]   end

I attached the error log for this action, but here is the line that catches my attention:

NoMethodError (undefined method `comment=' for #<Comment:0xb7ad0c34>):

I don't quite understand why it thinks 'comment=' is a method?

Thanks for all your help, I really appreciate this.

Attachments: http://www.ruby-forum.com/attachment/1478/development.log