Help Receiving a http POST to my application

Hi.. I'm just getting started with Ruby and am creating an API that will receive POST requests from its users.

I've got a "fake" user sending POST requests to the right controller in my application, but I can't seem to access the data being posted. (the create method in my controller is being invoked...so I know I'm addressing the POST call correctly)

The data being posted is: name=johnny&amount=928339

How do I capture this in the controller, create a new record and populate the name and amount fields in my database?

I don't want to use XML...my data must be in the above format.

Thanks!!!

Have you tried peeking at the params hash you get passed?

Fred

Teo Sor wrote:

Hi.. I'm just getting started with Ruby and am creating an API that will receive POST requests from its users.

I've got a "fake" user sending POST requests to the right controller in my application, but I can't seem to access the data being posted. (the create method in my controller is being invoked...so I know I'm addressing the POST call correctly)

The data being posted is: name=johnny&amount=928339

How do I capture this in the controller,

The POST data should be parsed by Rails and made available through the params-method:

params[:name] params[:amount]

create a new record and populate the name and amount fields in my database?

Model.create(...)

Christian Rishøj wrote:

Teo Sor wrote:

How do I capture this in the controller,

The POST data should be parsed by Rails and made available through the params-method:

params[:name] params[:amount]

create a new record and populate the name and amount fields in my database?

Model.create(...)

I tried using the params method, but it seems to be empty (I used params[:trans].inspect and it's empty (trans is my controller)). I even tried using request.env['RAW_POST_DATA'] to see if there was anything there...and I'm getting nothing!

I'm stumped!