Handling two models in one form

I am just beginning with RoR and ran into my first major headscratcher.

I have a model "events" which is through "has_and_belongs_to_many" (habtm) connected to a model "event_types", meaning one event can have several event_types and one event_type can belong to several events. First question: is there a better way to solve this relationship?

Alright, now when creating a new event I want to show the list of existing event types and let the user choose one or more for the new event through checkboxes.

I fiddled around with how to show the text boxes. I am using "form_for :event" so I tried to use "form.check_box" but I couldn't get it right.

I got it (halfway) working with the following but it is not pretty:

<% @event_types.each do |event_type| %>   <%= check_box_tag "selected_event_types", event_type.id, @event.has_event_type_by_id?(event_type.id) %>   <label for="selected_event_types"><%= event_type.name %></label> | <% end %>

And in the events_controller:

def new   @event = Event.new   @event_types = get_all_event_types   @locations = get_all_locations end

def create   @event = Event.new(params[:event])   params[:selected_event_types].each do |event_type_id|     @event.add_event_type_by_id(event_type_id)   end   if @event.save     redirect_to_index("Event was successfully created.")   else     @event_types = get_all_event_types     @locations = get_all_locations     render :action => :new   end end

It does work, I get a list of the selected event type ids in params[:selected_event_types] but I am sure there must be a smarter way to do this... Moreover, every checkbox gets the same id ("selected_event_types"), so my <label> doesn't work properly...

I am open for all thoughts and ideas!

/Zoop

Ok, I came a bit further in my quest for the perfect solution...

In the view I replaced my old code by this: