Handling of relations belongs_to/has_many

Hi,

I'm fairly new to RoR and I think I don't get some of the ActiveRecord magic.

I have:

# a lookup table (used to show countries in a <select>) class Country < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :breeders   validates_presence_of :name end

# a table of companies (each located in a specific country). class Breeder < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :country   validates_presence_of :name   validates_associated :country # may be NIL when we don't know it yet end

Currently, I do in the controller to create or update a Breeder:

def create     p=params[:breeder]     country_id = p[:country_id]     @breeder = Breeder.new(p)     @breeder.country = country_id.blank? ? nil : Country.find(country_id)     if @breeder.save     ....

What exactly is the difference for @breeder.country when it's assigned a (found) Country or breeder.country_id is set by Breeder.new(params[:breeder]) ?

Both save the country_id to the "breeders" table; besides that, the Breeder "knows" that the country_id (may) refer to a country and could do the find above itself.

Regards,

Thomas

Currently, I do in the controller to create or update a Breeder:

def create     p=params[:breeder]     country_id = p[:country_id]     @breeder = Breeder.new(p)     @breeder.country = country_id.blank? ? nil : Country.find(country_id)     if @breeder.save     ....

What exactly is the difference for @breeder.country when it's assigned a (found) Country or breeder.country_id is set by Breeder.new(params[:breeder]) ?

There is no difference, except that your controller code gets unneccessarily verbose.

The following should work just fine:

def create      @breeder = Breeder.new(params[:breeder])      if @breeder.save

Much simpler.

AR lazily initialises the breeder.country field on first access and internally performs a Country.find(breeder.country_id). Conversely, if you set the country field, country_id is updated.