Handling File on Upload

Hello,

I need some help trying to figure out how to add the ability for a user to upload a text file, and then have the application parse that text file, and add each record as instance of a model object. I've found a lot of helpful articles out there, but I'm stuck trying to bring it all together since I'm still very new to all of this.

Here's my view code: # index.html.erb <% form_for :upload, :url => { :action => :upload }, :html => { :multipart => true } do |f| %>

<p>Please select a file to upload:</p>     <%= f.file_field :file %>     <%= f.submit 'Upload', :disable_with => "Uploading..." %>

<% end %>

In my controller, I've been able to write something like this to work with the data in my upload view:

# mailing_lists_controller.rb def upload     file = params[:upload][:file]     @data = file.read   end

so then the view looks like this: # upload.html.erb <% @data.split("\r\n").each do |row| %>

<%= row.split("\t").join(" | ") %>

<% end %>

So, where I'm stuck is translating that into saving each row as a record in the database. I've tried several different things in the model (like creating a "process" method or using "before_save"), but nothing has been successful thus far (probably because I'm not implementing it correctly).

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Spencer

Hello,

I need some help trying to figure out how to add the ability for a

user to upload a text file, and then have the application parse that

text file, and add each record as instance of a model object. I’ve

found a lot of helpful articles out there, but I’m stuck trying to

bring it all together since I’m still very new to all of this.

Here’s my view code:

index.html.erb

<% form_for :upload, :url => { :action => :upload }, :html =>

{ :multipart => true } do |f| %>

<p>Please select a file to upload:</p>

<%= f.file_field :file %>

<%= f.submit 'Upload', :disable_with => "Uploading..." %>

<% end %>