Goog RoR 2.0 Book

I am new to learning RoR, and am finding it difficult to read the documentation, which I feel seems fairly inadequate in regards to the current version. Additionally, I can't find any published or to be published books that focus on Rails. Any help would be appreciated!

:slight_smile:

Howe

Look for Agile Web Development, RailsSpace, and the Rails Cookbook.

-Ryan

I’d start with the Peepcode: peepcode.com

?? I think there are dozens of rails books out now (including outdated 1st editions, Scriptaculous/prototype books, books not yet released, etc) on Amazon. I recommend Black "Ruby for Rails", and i like the Railsspace book also

But the OP didn't say that he had a hard time FINDING books, but that the books he is finding are outdated now that 2.0 is the plat du jour.

David's Ruby for Rails book, as good as it is, is stuck in the late Ruby 1.1 timeframe. From what he's told me he plans to evolve it into a new Ruby book for 1.9 without much, if any, Rails content.

AWDWR 2nd edition, particularly the depot tutorial is difficult for a beginner to adapt to 2.0.

I haven't read RailsSpace, so I can't comment on that.

The best Rails 2.0 dead tree resources to-date, at least as far as I'm aware, such as "The Rails Way" are targeted for people who already have a fair bit of Rails under their belt.

Hi --

David's Ruby for Rails book, as good as it is, is stuck in the late Ruby 1.1 timeframe. From what he's told me he plans to evolve it into

I think you mean 1.8. I never even saw Ruby 1.1 :slight_smile: Or do you mean Rails, rather than Ruby?

a new Ruby book for 1.9 without much, if any, Rails content.

Stay tuned :slight_smile:

David

Yes, I meant Rails 1.1