Getting all directories in a specified directory

Hello everyone

I'm trying to make a "directory chooser" for a form, so that the user can choose a subdirectory (via dropdown) of a specified root directory (under public/images) on the server. Sooo... how do I get an array or a hash of all the subdirectories in a specified directories? And: how can I then get an array or a hash of all the files that are in that subdir?

Thanks a lot! al

Try this:

def parse_dir(path)    dirs, files = ,    Dir.entries(path).each do |p|      dirs << p if File.directory?(p)      files << p if File.file?(p)    end    dirs[0...2] = # removes '.' and '..' directories (if on UNIX)    [dirs,files] end

directories, files = parse_dir(some_path)

Call additional times with a new path to get subdirectory information.

cr

Hi

Sorry if this is coming to the list a second time...

I'm new to Ruby on Rails and also new here, so apologies if this is something obvious I'm missing.

I'm also trying to list the contents of a directory and separate them into files and dirs. The ruby script I've written, as well as the one here, both work fine when run from the terminal. However, when I try to use either in Rails, the app only recognizes .. and . as directories and .DS_Store as a file, even though it can list the complete contents of the directory.

Any thoughts? Thanks for any help.

cheers dafydd

dafydd wrote:

I'm also trying to list the contents of a directory and separate them into files and dirs. The ruby script I've written, as well as the one here, both work fine when run from the terminal. However, when I try to use either in Rails, the app only recognizes .. and . as directories and .DS_Store as a file, even though it can list the complete contents of the directory.

Perhaps this code snippet will help. Also try logging/outputting the result of Dir.pwd, i.e. where is your current working directory under each circumstance?