Form_for with namespace

Hi,

I'm new to RoR (came over from PHP). I am working on the backend of my project now, and I'm basically trying to output a form that lets me create a new 'design'.

This is what I have in my routes.rb: map.with_options(:namespace => "admin") do |admin|   admin.resources :designs end

In my design controller: def new   @design = Design.new end

In my view for the form: <% form_for([:admin, @design]) do |f| %> <% end %>

When I attempt to view the form page, I get this error: undefined method `admin_designs_path' for #<ActionView::Base: 0x589b760>

I've been following the official guides to a T, so I'm not really sure where I've gone wrong. Anyone able to shed some light about this? Many thanks.

Hi Bryan L wrote:

This is what I have in my routes.rb: map.with_options(:namespace => "admin") do |admin|   admin.resources :designs end

You have to modify your routes as

map.namespace(:admin) do |admin|        admin.resources :designs end

And also generate controller and model like script/generate controller Admin::Designs script/generate model Design #field parameters here

Sijo

Thanks Sijo for the help. I've made the changes according to your suggestions. The error message is now different, but I guess there's some improvement!

"undefined method `^' for "f":String"

My routes.db:   map.namespace(:admin) do |admin|     admin.resources :designs   end

Any ideas??

If the error occurred on that line then it suggests @design is nil (@design is not a model it is a variable). You should set this up in your 'new' action before displaying the view. Something like @design = Design.new.

If this does not make sense then, if you have not done so already, have a look at the rails guide Getting Started. See

Colin