find created_at in local time

Hello and thanks for taking the time to read this,

last night I came across two problems from which the first one - I am sure - is easy to solve. But as I am a beginner I am unable to find the solution.

As I learned through the night rails stores created_at dates in utc. Sure enough my local time zone is not utc :slight_smile: When I have an item and use the method created_at rails translates the time to my local time zone.

So when I add an item at 0:15 am local time and want to list all the items for today with

@items = Item.find(:all, :conditions => [ "created_at LIKE ?", "#{Time.now.to_date}%" ])

this item will never be found as its created_at date is yesterday. My first idea was to add 7200 two created_at in the find clause, but that would be an ugly workaround (I even did not get that to work...).

Can You tell me what would be the correct solution to translate?

And now the second question: Is there (already) a best practice to query this in rails 3? I didn't find a solution to do a "LIKE" query without a plugin, so how can one get all items created today out of the database?

@orders = Order.where(:created_at.to_date => Time.now.to_date) does not work as I cannot add the method to_date to a symbol.

Thank You all greetings Sven

Hello and thanks for taking the time to read this,

last night I came across two problems from which the first one - I am sure - is easy to solve. But as I am a beginner I am unable to find the solution.

As I learned through the night rails stores created_at dates in utc. Sure enough my local time zone is not utc :slight_smile: When I have an item and use the method created_at rails translates the time to my local time zone.

So when I add an item at 0:15 am local time and want to list all the items for today with

@items = Item.find(:all, :conditions => [ "created_at LIKE ?", "#{Time.now.to_date}%" ])