Error when trying to create new app

Hi, First let me say that I’m a total newbie and I just installed ruby on rails :smiley:

After installing rails on my computer I am getting the following error when I try to create a new app. In the command prompt I type in “rails new nameofapp” and it installs some things and then spits out the following error message, “An error occurred while installing rake <10.4.2>, and Bundler cannot continue. Make sure that 'gem install rake -v ‘10.4.2’ succeeds before bundling.”

What is this error message and what do I do?

I’m using Windows 8 and Rails Installer 1.9.

thanks,

josh

I don't have much experience in rails to tell you what to do, but open your command promt and run this:

$ gem install rake -v 10.4.2

This message is telling you that the rails can't install this gem, and you need this. Send me some message when you thy this, because I don't have sure that this will work.

It said, “‘$’ is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.”

Hi, First let me say that I'm a total newbie and I just installed ruby on rails :smiley:

After installing rails on my computer I am getting the following error when I try to create a new app. In the command prompt I type in "rails new nameofapp" and it installs some things and then spits out the following error message, "An error occurred while installing rake <10.4.2>, and Bundler cannot continue. Make sure that 'gem install rake -v '10.4.2' succeeds before bundling."

What is this error message and what do I do?

I'm using Windows 8 and Rails Installer 1.9.

I suggest starting by working right through a good tutorial such as railstutorial.org (which is free to use online).