dynamic data included in application.rhtml?

I'm going to preface this by saying that I'm a total Rails newb. I'm learning via books and tutorials, which is great, but I keep getting hung up on something I'm sure is totally simple, but I just can't quite figure out how to do, and is rather essential to my being able to feel like I'm getting somewhere and moving along with it all.

That said. I'm looking to include a few different bits of database data in my main application template. I can get the views looking the way I want them using a regular controller & view, but can I then include this view in my application.rhtml, or does it need to be written as a partial? And can I even have two controllers using the same model? Or should this whole thing be written directly into the application template, or as a component? I'm just not sure how to approach it all, which is a little frustrating since I'm used to using PHP to develop my websites, and doing this in PHP would be a rather straightforward effort.

Can anyone guide me in the right direction?

Thanks!

sarah

Sarah,

I'm not sure I understand your question, but let me give you my approach. I use the application.rhtml to contain things that are universal across my application. I include a lot of dynamic data, but only class variables that are universal as well. Then all of my views are just the contents of page, while the application.rhtml wraps the whole page up. Wow. I'm not sure that made sense.

Controllers are totally independent of models; they just interface the user to the models. So you may have a login controller that references the user model.

I hope this helps! Maybe try posting up something more specific...

--Tom

Well, what I'm trying to create is this:

http://clients.triggersandsparks.com/new/template.html

where the various controllers' output would be rendered in the "content" div (where the headline & lorem ipsum is).