Do you develop stuff locally or on a server?

Sorry if this is an obvious question but I've been searching around for an hour with no luck. As a novice programmer, I have no idea what good programming practice is.

I’m trying to code a web app with a friend, and we’re not sure how we should set up our development environment. Is it preferable to

a) edit files on the local machine and test it there, submitting changes to our production server when they’re ready?

or b) to have test apps on the same server as our production app, and edit files through some FTP-capable editor?

How do you set up your development environment? As a followup question, do you prefer IDEs or editor + console? I’m using RadRails now but I’m not sure how I’d get it to work with option b above.

Sorry if this is an obvious question but I've been searching around for an hour with no luck. As a novice programmer, I have no idea what good programming practice is.

I’m trying to code a web app with a friend, and we’re not sure how we should set up our development environment. Is it preferable to

a) edit files on the local machine and test it there, submitting changes to our production server when they’re ready?

or b) to have test apps on the same server as our production app, and edit files through some FTP-capable editor?

How do you set up your development environment? As a followup question, do you prefer IDEs or editor + console? I’m using RadRails now but I’m not sure how I’d get it to work with option b above.

If it were me...

I'd develop on my local box (osx in this case, but it doesn't really matter). Everything I do is checked into version control (subversion or git). Version control will make it much easier for you and your friend to work simultaneously without overwriting each other's changes.

Then use Capistrano to deploy your application to production (after testing of course).

-philip

Philip Hallstrom wrote:

to our production server when they�re ready?