Database/program design question

Hi, I'm a bit new to the MVC design and all the fun stuff that goes along with Ruby on Rails. I just got RoR working on my host (I'm stuck on version 1.1.6, though), and I was looking for advice on how I should design this in my mysql database.

I am working on a system for image galleries. Essentially, I have several Users, and each user could potentially have several (has_many) picture galleries. Sort of like facebook or myspace picture galleries. My problem is this: each gallery is going to have to have it's own table (I think) because there could be a really large amount of pictures, and I'll need columns for comments, description, filename, etc. But using something from RoR that I've learned so far, I can do has_many :galleries, but then I only get 1 gallery model - linked to just one table. I guess I could set the foreign key (user_id) to each row in that table, and then store the name of the specific gallery table (gallery_kopf1988_1)... but then how do I get that gallery working in the same Model-View-Controller fashion?

I hope this makes some sense...

i don't think this makes much sense you won't get any performance by having multiple tables and it will make your code very difficult to handle and you'll have to write things multiple times or code outside the model

i would use a gallery table and pictures :belongs_to "gallery" comments (and maybe descriptions) have their own tables (:belongs_to "picture")

or can a picture belong to several galeries, too? then it would be a :has_and_belongs_to relation (since a gallery will have multiple pictures) in that case you would need to have them in one table anyway

if the galleries are per user, things become even more complicated and the approach of having your own table per gallery will fail. another problem would be, that you can't create new galleries if you need to create a table for them