Database Design

Hello,

I have a user table that stores their username, email address, and password. (along with salt, etc)

However, now I want to have more complex information associated with each user (address, etc). I'm no DBA expert, so in terms of performance, which is better:

- A user table that has all the fields in it (Username, Email, password, country, state, zipcode, etc) - A user table that only has username/password/email, that is connected via a foreign key to another table that stores all the other fields.

Which is better? And why?

Thank you

-David Zhu

David Zhu wrote in post #971909:

Hello,

I have a user table that stores their username, email address, and password. (along with salt, etc)

However, now I want to have more complex information associated with each user (address, etc). I'm no DBA expert, so in terms of performance, which is better:

- A user table that has all the fields in it (Username, Email, password, country, state, zipcode, etc) - A user table that only has username/password/email, that is connected via a foreign key to another table that stores all the other fields.

The first will be slightly better in terms of performance, because you're not joining tables. But if your tables are properly indexed, the join should have a negligible effect on performance.

However, I don't see why you'd use the second approach. It's more complex for no particular gain.

Thank you

-David Zhu

Best,

I totally agree with Marnen's post above. The first approach is going to be better in terms of performance than storing it in another table.

The reasons are, basically: 1) Joins on the two tables during queries 2) Index size