Data Comparison

Hello, I am having trouble trying to get a data table comparison working... I have two database tables with their own models. Both contain phone number information. What I need the program to do is to read every phone number from every row from Table1 and compare that number to every number in every row in Table2. It then needs to put that information in two variables. One containing all the entries that match in both tables and one containing all the entries that do not match. I am very new to RoR and I can do this no problem in PHP, but my boss wants it in Ruby... I have a "compare" controller in which all this should take place. I have tried using find_by_sql with no luck... I think my big problem is simply not defining variables properly or something. My controller looks like this: Btw, "bes" is one table (holding Blackberry phone info) and "prov" is another table (holding info from our wireless provider).

def index @bes = Bes.find(:all) @prov = Import.find(:all)

@provnumber = Import.prov_service_number @matches = Bes.find_by_sql("SELECT bes_phonenumber number, bes_displayname name FROM bes WHERE bes_phonenumber = @provnumber") end

My view has something like this:

<% for match in @matches -%> <% @matches %>    <tr>      <td><%= match.name %></td>      <td><%= match.number %></td>      <td><%= match.prov_number %></td>    </tr> <% end %>

Thanks for all your help! I appreciate it! - Jeff

Well, you can't get much help if you don't provide enough information. Perhaps if you showed what the models look like or the columns from your tables. As a start, an ActiveRecord model called "Be" would keep its records in a table named 'bes'.

class Be < ActiveRecord::Base end

If you had SQL that gave you the results that you wanted, you could either get a list of bes.id or skip the whole model thing and jump straight to the adapter: