Custom form builder errors?

Hello all, I'm new to Ruby and Ruby on Rails, so please have patience with a newbie.

I was looking at the HTML produced when there are form errors and realized why my layout keeps breaking. Every label and input with an error gets wrapped with a div tag! So, I've been looking at the source ... but I have yet to find what object or method to inherit from.

Can you guys tell me how to change the output? What I'd like to accomplish is that flawed fields, any inputs, have the standard error class (no wrapping div) and that any labels have the class too. IE, I'd rather output the tag with a class name than a wrapping div with a class name.

Thanks for any help you guys can give.

- Robert

Hello all, I'm new to Ruby and Ruby on Rails, so please have patience with a newbie.

I was looking at the HTML produced when there are form errors and realized why my layout keeps breaking. Every label and input with an error gets wrapped with a div tag! So, I've been looking at the
source ... but I have yet to find what object or method to inherit from.

Can you guys tell me how to change the output? What I'd like to accomplish is that flawed fields, any inputs, have the standard error class (no wrapping div) and that any labels have the class too. IE,
I'd rather output the tag with a class name than a wrapping div with a
class name.

You can set ActionView::Base.field_error_proc (take a look insider
active_record_helper to see what the default is.)

Fred

Frederick Cheung wrote:

You can set ActionView::Base.field_error_proc (take a look insider active_record_helper to see what the default is.)

Fred

Thanks Fred, just what I needed! Is the tag an object, or the actual string output?

Frederick Cheung wrote:

You can set ActionView::Base.field_error_proc (take a look insider active_record_helper to see what the default is.)

Fred

Thanks Fred, just what I needed! Is the tag an object, or the actual string output?

Dunno. Try it out :slight_smile:

Fred